Posted by: qambber | March 31, 2007

300


300 OK, so I was talking to my friend this one fine morning about how sucky life is and how there was never anything to look forward to when he told me that there was … oh yeah oh yeah oh yeah … 300!!! His excitement made me interested in the movie too. After looking at a few trailers again and again (thanks to the engaging graphics), I decided that there was no way my eyes could survive the torture of not seeing this movie after it comes out.

After countless restless nights with dreams of Sparta, the cuddly black Spartan beards and the beautiful Spartan babes and not to mention a very thirsty throat (thanks to the dry atmosphere of my area), I finally landed upon the movie. There it was, in my hand, the DVD of what I dreamt, the much promise that I had been looking forward to, the work of art that was suppose to baffle my mind and the inspiration that I wanted to feel all turned into emotions of excitement.

I was so excited, I burnt my popcorn and spilled my coke as I hurriedly prepared myself for a night of engaging entertainment. I finally sat fitting the DVD in the player while my home theatre system warmed up and then it all began … with a story being told by a third person … the story of a boy, turned a man, turned a king … Ah, I should not say more about the movie because I don’t want to destroy the suspense (if there is any) and the story (if there is any) for anyone who wants to see it.

… now comming back to my feelings, with the beginning of the movie, all the promise started to fade away, the art was there and action was there but the story had no depth, infact there was no story, there was nothing apart from some whiny asses (about 300 of them) crying SPARTA. That actually became irritating and all that action and art alone did not quinch my thirst of entertainment. By the end of the movie, I heard Sparta so many times that once more would have made me bang my head in a wall somewhere. Who cares about Sparta anyway was the feeling.

I think whoever made the movie put all the stakes in the digital affects to captivate the mind of the viewers. If anything would keep this movie from being a flop, it would be the cinematics. If you ask my opinion, I would only advise you to watch it keeping in mind that the movie has no story, no depth, poor dialogues and can only be enjoyed by people who want to have a good time seeing overly exaggerated medieval fights and a lot of gore.

peace!!!

Responses

  1. Funny description ;D

  2. What else can u expect from a comic movie other then one and half hour of entertainment . By the way i liked their fighting startegy …. and the roar of spartants …. what else ? mmmm ….. yea some actions as well …. thats it .


Leave a Reply

Categories

